# 2024-2025 BYLAWS

## MEDICAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The faculty of the School of Medicine is responsible for the development, implementation, and evaluation of the curriculum for the School of Medicine.

### The charge of the Medical Education Committee is to:

- Define, develop, and implement curriculum in medical programs.
- Coordinate and integrate the overall medical curriculum.
- Evaluate current courses and training in the School of Medicine.
- Develop and implement ongoing methods for assessment of the medical curriculum.
- Define graduation requirements.

#### **Associate Dean of Medical Education**

- <u>Office</u>: The Associate Dean of Medical Education will be appointed by the Dean of the School of Medicine.
- <u>Responsibilities</u>: The Associate Dean of Medical Education will have overall responsibility for:
  - Implementation, coordination, and facilitation of the activities of the Medical Education Committee and Faculty on curricular matters
  - Ensuring that curricular offerings to medical students are adequate and appropriate.

#### Membership (16 voting members)

- <u>Faculty (11)</u>: Seven members will be nominated by the Faculty Council and elected by the faculty, at least three of whom are from Biomedical and Translational Sciences and four from Clinical Sciences. One Clinical Science member will be a representative from the Sioux Falls campuses, one Clinical Science member will be a representative from the Rapid City regional campus and one Clinical Science member will be a representative from the Yankton regional campus. The final Clinical Science member can come from any of the clinical campuses or clinical sites. These members may serve a maximum of two consecutive three-year terms.
- In addition to these seven members above, two members will be representatives from the preclinical program, Pillar 1 (selected by the Pillar 1 subcommittee), and two members will be representatives from the clinical programs, Pillar 2 and 3 (selected by the clerkship directors subcommittee). The terms of these unit representatives are unrestricted (determined by yearly internal elections).
- <u>Students (4)</u>: One medical student will be elected from each new class of medical students serving for a three-year term beginning with January 1 of their first year and ending December 31 three years later. One MD-PhD student will be elected from the cohort of all MD-PhD students who are actively working on their PhD program. The term of this student is yearly (determined by yearly internal elections and unrestricted for number of terms) and begins January 1 and ends December 31 for the year they are elected. Medical student representatives will be approved by the Faculty Council in consultation with the Associate Dean of Medical Education and the Associate Dean of Medical Student Affairs.
- <u>Chair (1)</u>: The Associate Dean of Medical Education will serve as Chair.
- <u>Advisory</u>: The Associate Dean of Student Affairs and members of the Evaluation and Assessment for the school will serve as nonvoting advisory members. Campus deans will also serve as

nonvoting advisory members. In the absence of representation of leadership from any one of the three campuses or the FARM program, the Associate Dean of Medical Education will invite one administrator or faculty member from that campus to serve as a nonvoting advisory member.

- <u>Meetings</u>: Meetings are normally scheduled on a monthly basis. Meetings may be teleconferenced to facilitate attendance by faculty and students on multiple campuses.
- <u>Voting</u>: Faculty and student members will each have one vote. The Associate Dean of Medical Education is a voting member, but normally exercises that option to break a tie.
- <u>Quorum</u>: A majority (6) of the voting faculty members (11) will constitute a quorum.
- <u>Removal</u>: A voting member will be removed from the committee for absence of three consecutive meetings or six meetings during the previous year. The Faculty Council will elect an individual to complete the remainder of the term.
- <u>Reports</u>: Copies of the minutes of each meeting will be made available to the Chair of the Faculty Council, all Deans, and all relevant subcommittees within the School of Medicine.
- <u>Subcommittees</u>: Formation and coordination of subcommittees will be the prerogative of the committee and appointed by the Chair.
- will occur every eight years.